The Resource Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot, Sarah Courtauld

Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot, Sarah Courtauld

Label
Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot
Title
Buckle and Squash
Title remainder
the perilous princess plot
Statement of responsibility
Sarah Courtauld
Title variation
Perilous princess plot
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
This is the story of two very different sisters--Eliza, who longs to ride into battle against villains and dragons, and Lavender, who would give anything to be a pampered princess. Before the end of the story both of them have had a chance to fulfill their dreams, though not quite in the way they intended. Accompanied by their depressed goat, Gertrude, with their granny's warnings about the Black Death ringing in their ears, they head out into the forest and come face to face with an evil count who definitely does not have their best interests at heart
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Grades 2-4 This mixed-up fairy tale has everything readers could want, including adventure, danger, and a cantankerous goat. Lavender wants to marry a prince, and the easiest way to meet one is to be rescued, so she sets off to put herself in mortal danger. Meanwhile, villain Mordmont decides the only way to solve his money problems is to hold a princess for ransom, and it’s not long before Lavender is in his dungeon. When Lavender’s sister, Eliza, discovers her missing, she has no choice but to saddle up the family goat and save her sister with nothing but her own cunning. Readers already familiar with common fairy-tale tropes will laugh at the wacky events that ensue. Black-and-white illustrations add to the fun, as does the narration, which gives the reader a behind-the-scenes look and creates several inside jokes. Just right for readers who like their princess stories with a large dose of humor. -- Erickson, Tiffany (Reviewed 05-15-2015) (Booklist, vol 111, number 18, p65)
  • Gr 3 – 5 — This cross between a fractured fairy tale and any of Roald Dahl's zany adventures is the first installment in the "Buckle and Squash" series. The story centers on two sisters: level-headed Eliza and Lavender, a dreamer. They live with Grandma Maud; their parents died in an accident at a village festival and their Grandpa Joe went missing, both events having taken place before the start of the story. The girls live on a farm in the Middle of Nowhere and while Eliza toils away at their farm chores, Lavender reads fairytales and dreams of princes as she perfects her princess personality. One day, Lavender runs away in hopes of being rescued by a prince and sets off an adventure in which she is captured by a bankrupt bad guy and Eliza must rescue her sister given only a goat named Gertrude for a steed and a hat and a beard as magical tools for saving the day. This humorous tale is funny right down to the sentence level narration ("The next morning was bright and lovely. The birds sang. Dawn rose. Then she went back to bed. Luckily Dawn isn't part of this story. She didn't really get up to much."). Witty writing combined with a cast of characters that are as ridiculous as they are memorable—rendered in black-and-white drawings throughout—makes for a great series opener. VERDICT A fun read for chapter book and younger middle grade readers.—Samantha Lumetta, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, OH --Samantha Lumetta (Reviewed March 1, 2015) (School Library Journal, vol 61, issue 3, p115)
  • Absurdity reigns in Courtauld’s (On a Pirate Ship ) boisterous, logic-warping fantasy, starring sisters Eliza and Lavender, who hail from a “village in the middle of nowhere, which was called the Middle of Nowhere.” While Eliza wants to battle dragons, fairy tale–obsessed Lavender aspires to marry a prince; in one of the book’s many hilarious moments, Courtauld offers scraggly pencil portraits of some of Lavender’s favorite royal dreamboats, including Prince Chlknklkgkfj the Unpronounceable and Prince Kanye the Anachronistic. Lavender’s quest to find her groom triggers a series of madcap incidents involving Mordmont, a villain scheming to kidnap and ransom a princess in order to pay his bills; when Mordmont’s bumbling minions mistake Lavender for a royal and deliver her to him, she in turn mistakes Mordmont for a prince turned beast, à la Beauty and the Beast . In the course of rescuing her sister, Eliza does in fact best a dragon (of sorts), and Lavender finds a prince (of sorts). Abundant wordplay, sarcastic footnotes, and a slew of out-of-left-field jokes make this book ideal for fans of Dav Pilkey, Andy Griffiths, or Lois Lowry’s The Willoughbys . Ages 7–10. (May ) --Staff (Reviewed April 6, 2015) (Publishers Weekly, vol 262, issue 14, p)
  • Two sisters living in the Middle of Nowhere get involved in a dangerous plot in this debut fantasy from England. Farm girl Lavender completely believes that she will marry a prince, trusting her book of fairy tales implicitly. Practical Eliza tends to the farm and their loyal but enigmatic goat, Gertrude. When Lavender decides to take her fate into her own hands and disguise herself as a princess, she is kidnapped by the minions of the evil Mordmont to hold for ransom. He believes Lavender is the real deal, and Lavender decides he must be the beast who will turn back into a handsome prince when she gives him True Love's First Kiss. Eliza, riding Gertrude, tracks her down and tries to rescue her. However, the girls will have to contend with moat-dragons, especially mother dragon Violet. Courtauld goes wild with puns and humorous turns of phrase: "There was a pause. Then, there were some paws"; in order to escape Lavender's singing, "[b]adgers started hitting each other over the head with rocks in order to make themselves deaf." Most pages sport whimsical pencil drawings by the author, some using more puns, such as a drawing of a tree hung with underpants for "pantry." It's mayhem, with fart jokes, direct addresses to readers, gleefully ridiculous names, and more. Young readers will laugh themselves silly. (Fantasy. 7-10)(Kirkus Reviews, March 1, 2015)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10415833
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Courtauld, Sarah
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Intended audience
670L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
LG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 5
Reading level
4.7
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Buckle and Squash
Series volume
0001
Study program name
Accelerated Reader
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Sisters
  • Dragons
  • Good and evil
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot, Sarah Courtauld
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
186 pages and 1 unnumbered page
Isbn
9781250052773
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Original version note
Originally published in the U.K. as Buckle and Squash and the monstrous moat-dragon, Macmillan Children's.
Other physical details
illustrations
Label
Buckle and Squash : the perilous princess plot, Sarah Courtauld
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
186 pages and 1 unnumbered page
Isbn
9781250052773
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Original version note
Originally published in the U.K. as Buckle and Squash and the monstrous moat-dragon, Macmillan Children's.
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Bay Shore-Brightwaters Public LibraryBorrow it
      1 South Country Road, Brightwaters, NY, 11718, US
      40.713309 -73.257746
    • Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      24 South Carll Avenue, Babylon, NY, 11702, US
      40.695094 -73.325906
    • Bayport-Blue Point Public LibraryBorrow it
      203 Blue Point Ave, Blue Point, NY, 11715, US
      40.749741 -73.035841
    • Brentwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      Second Ave and Fourth Street, Brentwood, NY, 11717, US
      40.777939 -73.248215
    • Central Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      33 Hawthorne Avenue, Central Islip, NY, 11722, US
      40.795526 -73.195144
    • Commack Public LibraryBorrow it
      18 Hauppauge Road, Commack, NY, 11725, US
      40.829045 -73.293782
    • Center Moriches Free Public LibraryBorrow it
      235 Main Street, Center Moriches, NY, 11934, US
      40.800353 -72.788352
    • Comsewogue Public LibraryBorrow it
      170 Terryville Road, Port Jefferson Station, NY, 11776, US
      40.923668 -73.053316
    • Half Hollow Hills Community LibraryBorrow it
      55 Vanderbilt Pkwy, Dix Hills, NY, 11746, US
      40.803876 -73.360391
    • East Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      381 E Main Street, 381 East Main Street, NY, 11730, US
      40.735575 -73.173381
    • Elwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      1929 Jericho Tpke, Elwood, NY, 11731, US
      40.838137 -73.3325100434101
    • Northport-East Northport Public Library - East NorthportBorrow it
      185 Larkfield Road, East Northport, NY, 11731, US
      40.878082 -73.324623
    • Harborfields Public LibraryBorrow it
      31 Broadway, Greenlawn, NY, 11740, US
      40.871184 -73.366948
    • Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      71 Monell Avenue, Islip, NY, 11751, US
      40.724399 -73.2139704002983
    • Longwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      800 Middle Country Road, Middle Island, NY, 11953, US
      40.882178 -72.944065
    • Half Hollow Hills Community Library - Melville BranchBorrow it
      510 Sweet Hollow Road, Melville, NY, 11747, US
      40.79228 -73.418994
    • Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community LibraryBorrow it
      407 William Floyd Pkwy, Shirley, NY, 11967, US
      40.782705 -72.862749
    • North Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      815 Deer Park Ave, North Babylon, NY, 11703, US
      40.724609 -73.322287
    • Northport-East Northport Public LibraryBorrow it
      151 Laurel Ave, Northport, NY, 11768, US
      40.896016 -73.337641
    • North Shore Public LibraryBorrow it
      250 Route 25A, Shoreham, NY, 11786, US
      40.941479 -72.867075
    • Port Jefferson Free LibraryBorrow it
      100 Thompson St, Port Jefferson, NY, 11777, US
      40.946867 -73.066533
    • Patchogue-Medford LibraryBorrow it
      54-60 E. Main St, Patchogue, NY, 11772, US
      40.76538 -73.013599
    • Riverhead Free LibraryBorrow it
      330 Court Street, Riverhead, NY, 11901, US
      40.918477 -72.669224
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
    • Smithtown LibraryBorrow it
      1 North Country Road, Smithtown, NY, 11787, US
      40.856664 -73.186524
    • West Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      211 Route 109, West Babylon, NY, 11704, US
      40.709044 -73.354079
Processing Feedback ...