The Resource Caged, Ellison Cooper

Caged, Ellison Cooper

Label
Caged
Title
Caged
Statement of responsibility
Ellison Cooper
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
FBI neuroscientist Sayer Altair hunts for evil in the deepest recesses of the human mind. Still reeling from the death of her fiancé, she wants nothing more than to focus on her research into the brains of serial killers. But when the Washington D.C. police stumble upon a gruesome murder scene involving a girl who'd been slowly starved to death while held captive in a cage, Sayer is called in to lead the investigation. When the victim is identified as the daughter of a high profile senator, Sayer is thrust into the spotlight. As public pressure mounts, she discovers that another girl has been taken and is teetering on the brink of death. With evidence unraveling around her, Sayer races to save the second victim but soon realizes that they are hunting a killer with a dangerous obsession...a killer who is closer than she thought
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • When the body of a senator’s daughter is discovered, caged, in an abandoned D.C. basement, FBI Special Agent Sayer Altair and her partner, Vik Devereaux, face a cunning murderer who breaks the standard serial-killer mold. Behind a bomb-rigged hatch, the perpetrator has left video footage of Gwendolyn Van Hurst’s captivity, allowing the agents to glimpse a hellish scene: the cage elevated in a smoke-filled room, with images of Mayan mythology projected on the surrounding walls. With the video, investigators find a photograph of the killer’s newest captive. Sayer quickly discovers that the myths are all related to twins and that the smoke was used to deliver a powerful hallucinogen, but her progress toward linking the bizarre modus operandi to a viable suspect is plagued by leaks from her own team and by Senator Van Hurst’s steady stream of press conferences. This debut, first in a trilogy, will have strong appeal for thriller fans drawn to the psychologically complex, character-driven serial-killer hunts of Val McDermid and Jefferey Deaver. -- Tran, Christine (Reviewed 6/1/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 19, p41)
  • Cooper leaves no serial killer thriller cliché behind in her debut, starting with a lead burdened with a tragic backstory. FBI special agent Sayer Altair’s parents died in a car crash, and her fiancé, a fellow agent, was killed on duty under mysterious circumstances. Sayer’s research into the brain patterns of murderers is put on hold when the emaciated corpse of Gwendolyn Van Hurst, an ambitious senator’s teenage daughter who went missing a year earlier, is found in a cage in the basement of a Washington, D.C., house. The victim’s captor booby-trapped the building, and more than one investigator is either wounded or killed. The search for the girl’s killer gains urgency after Sayer learns another caged captive may still be alive. Readers should be prepared for melodramatic writing (“As Sayer drifted off to sleep, she vowed to herself that she would find that girl if it was the last thing she did”) and implausible law enforcement decisions (Sayer is content to wait a day for access to vital government records stored in an office closed for the weekend). Hopefully, Cooper will do better next time. Agent: Amy Tannenbaum, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (July) --Staff (Reviewed 05/28/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 22, p)
  • A teenage girl found starved to death in a medieval torture cage, booby traps set to thwart rescue, a leak inside the investigation. For FBI Special Agent Sayer Altair, nothing in this case makes sense. But as a neuroscientist studying the brains of serial killers, she knows only too well how psychopaths can hide in the skins of normal people. As the pool of potential killers shrinks, Sayer has no idea who she can trust. Snares set by the killer wreak havoc on law enforcement during their pursuit, and casualties quickly multiply. Sayer must think outside the box to separate the real clues from those planted to deceive the team, while also dealing with her own demons—the loneliness she feels after her fiancé's death and her disappointment in her flailing research. VERDICT Forensic mystery fans who enjoy deciphering clues while peeking inside the mind of a killer will be entertained by this pathologically twisted tale by a first-time author. A good choice for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/18.] --K.L. Romo (Reviewed 04/01/2018) (Library Journal, vol 143, issue 6, p47)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10677129
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cooper, Ellison
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.O582623
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Agent Sayer Altair novels
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Serial murder investigation
  • Women detectives
  • Criminal profilers
Target audience
adult
Label
Caged, Ellison Cooper
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9781250173836
Lccn
2018004438
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Caged, Ellison Cooper
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9781250173836
Lccn
2018004438
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Amityville Public LibraryBorrow it
      19 John Street, Amityville, NY, 11701, US
      40.679667 -73.41909
    • Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      24 South Carll Avenue, Babylon, NY, 11702, US
      40.695094 -73.325906
    • Central Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      33 Hawthorne Avenue, Central Islip, NY, 11722, US
      40.795526 -73.195144
    • Commack Public LibraryBorrow it
      18 Hauppauge Road, Commack, NY, 11725, US
      40.829045 -73.293782
    • Center Moriches Free Public LibraryBorrow it
      235 Main Street, Center Moriches, NY, 11934, US
      40.800353 -72.788352
    • Cold Spring Harbor LibraryBorrow it
      95 Harbor Road, Cold Spring Harbor, NY, 11724, US
      40.866179 -73.460626
    • Deer Park Public LibraryBorrow it
      44 Lake Avenue, Deer Park, NY, 11729, US
      40.759847 -73.323106
    • Emma S. Clark Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      120 Main Street, Setauket, NY, 11733, US
      40.944931 -73.11193
    • Elwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      1929 Jericho Tpke, Elwood, NY, 11731, US
      40.838137 -73.3325100434101
    • Hampton Bays Public LibraryBorrow it
      52 Ponquogue Avenue, Hampton Bays, NY, 11946, US
      40.872962 -72.520379
    • Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      338 Main Street, Huntington, NY, 11743, US
      40.87052 -73.430023
    • Hauppauge Public LibraryBorrow it
      601 Veterans Memorial Highway, Hauppauge, NY, 11788, US
      40.823892 -73.208679
    • Lindenhurst Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      1 Lee Ave, Lindenhurst, NY, 11757, US
      40.68248 -73.36768
    • Longwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      800 Middle Country Road, Middle Island, NY, 11953, US
      40.882178 -72.944065
    • Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community LibraryBorrow it
      407 William Floyd Pkwy, Shirley, NY, 11967, US
      40.782705 -72.862749
    • North Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      815 Deer Park Ave, North Babylon, NY, 11703, US
      40.724609 -73.322287
    • Northport-East Northport Public LibraryBorrow it
      151 Laurel Ave, Northport, NY, 11768, US
      40.896016 -73.337641
    • Patchogue-Medford LibraryBorrow it
      54-60 E. Main St, Patchogue, NY, 11772, US
      40.76538 -73.013599
    • Rogers Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      91 Coopers Farm Road, Southampton, NY, 11968, US
      40.886297 -72.393263
    • South Country LibraryBorrow it
      22 Station Road, Bellport, NY, 11713, US
      40.758119 -72.940998
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
    • Smithtown LibraryBorrow it
      1 North Country Road, Smithtown, NY, 11787, US
      40.856664 -73.186524
    • West Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      211 Route 109, West Babylon, NY, 11704, US
      40.709044 -73.354079
    • West Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      3 Higbie Lane, West Islip, NY, 11795, US
      40.697343 -73.306476
Processing Feedback ...