The Resource Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza

Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza

Label
Death notice : a novel
Title
Death notice
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • chi
  • eng
Summary
  • "An elite police squad hunts a manipulative mastermind out to publically execute criminals the law cannot reach. A wild thriller and deadly game of cat-and-mouse from one of China's most popular authors. For fans of Jo Nesbo, Se7en, and Hong Kong police cinema. The brutal murder of respected police officer Sergeant Zheng Haoming sends shockwaves through Chengdu, a modern metropolis in the heart of China's stunning Sichuan Province. He had been obsessed by an unsolved, eighteen-year-old murder case, until an entity calling themselves Eumenides (after the Greek goddess of vengeance and retribution) releases a terrifying manifesto. Is the manifesto a sick joke, or something more sinister? Soon, the public starts 'nominating' worthy targets for Eumenides to kill, and two days later, Sergeant Zheng is dead. Eumenides' cunning game is only getting started. The police receive a "death notice," a chilling note announcing the the killer's next target, the crimes they have committed, and the date of their execution. The note is both a challenge and a taunt to the police. When the first victim dies in public, under their complete protection, the police are left stunned. More death notices are coming. The chase is on. Death Notice is an explosive, page-turning thriller filtered through a vibrant cultural lens. Zhou Haohui expertly adds an exhilarating new prespective to the twists and tropes of the genre all fans love, making for a uniquely propulsive and entertaining read"--
  • "An elite police squad hunts a manipulative mastermind out to publically execute criminals the law cannot reach"--
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10664730
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1977-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Zhou, Haohui
Dewey number
895.13/6
Index
no index present
Language note
Originally published in Chinese as "Si wang tong zhi dan: an hei zhe" in 2014
LC call number
PL2978.H36
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Haluza, Zac
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Death notice
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Police
  • Vigilantes
  • Executions and executioners
  • Retribution
  • Chengdu (China)
Target audience
adult
Label
Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
301 pages
Isbn
9780385543323
Lccn
2017048812
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Death notice : a novel, Zhou Haohui ; translated from the Chinese by Zac Haluza
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
301 pages
Isbn
9780385543323
Lccn
2017048812
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Amagansett Free LibraryBorrow it
      215 Main St., Amagansett, NY, 11930, US
      40.97566 -72.141228
    • Central Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      33 Hawthorne Avenue, Central Islip, NY, 11722, US
      40.795526 -73.195144
    • Deer Park Public LibraryBorrow it
      44 Lake Avenue, Deer Park, NY, 11729, US
      40.759847 -73.323106
    • Half Hollow Hills Community LibraryBorrow it
      55 Vanderbilt Pkwy, Dix Hills, NY, 11746, US
      40.803876 -73.360391
    • Emma S. Clark Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      120 Main Street, Setauket, NY, 11733, US
      40.944931 -73.11193
    • East Hampton LibraryBorrow it
      159 Main Street, East Hampton, NY, 11937, US
      40.958182 -72.191193
    • East Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      381 E Main Street, 381 East Main Street, NY, 11730, US
      40.735575 -73.173381
    • Floyd Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      539 First Street, Greenport, NY, 11944, US
      41.106061 -72.362493
    • Hampton Bays Public LibraryBorrow it
      52 Ponquogue Avenue, Hampton Bays, NY, 11946, US
      40.872962 -72.520379
    • Hampton Library in BridgehamptonBorrow it
      2478 Main Street, Bridgehampton, NY, 11932, US
      40.937413 -72.302398
    • North Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      815 Deer Park Ave, North Babylon, NY, 11703, US
      40.724609 -73.322287
    • Patchogue-Medford LibraryBorrow it
      54-60 E. Main St, Patchogue, NY, 11772, US
      40.76538 -73.013599
    • Rogers Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      91 Coopers Farm Road, Southampton, NY, 11968, US
      40.886297 -72.393263
    • Riverhead Free LibraryBorrow it
      330 Court Street, Riverhead, NY, 11901, US
      40.918477 -72.669224
    • South Country LibraryBorrow it
      22 Station Road, Bellport, NY, 11713, US
      40.758119 -72.940998
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
Processing Feedback ...