The Resource Goblins, Philip Reeve

Goblins, Philip Reeve

Label
Goblins
Title
Goblins
Statement of responsibility
Philip Reeve
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Young Skarper has always been a different sort of goblin, more interested in knowledge and information than eating and throwing rocks, and it gets him into trouble--but it may also be the key to saving Clovenstone from a dark sorcerer
Storyline
Review
  • Grades 3-5 Skarper, a goblin ejected by catapult from his tribe, and Henwyn, a cheese maker’s son and aspirant knight who has been cast from his home after exploding the family factory, form an unlikely duo who rescue a princess, discover hidden tunnels, and save a kingdom. This is a delightful romp through towers, passageways, marshes, and fog, with characters that are lovable but flawed, and a sense of humor that forever lurks near the surface like the troll under the proverbial (and actual) bridge. Reeve has created a charming world where location and character names—Dungnutt, Knobbler, Libnog—are only a few of the details that add snap to the story. He cracks a few stereotypes along the way, starting with a princess in middle age, rather than dewy youth, who goes by the name of Ned. Engaging, assured writing on Reeve’s part makes this an excellent read-aloud for home or school. Conflicts are resolved, but the ending is open enough that a sequel remains a welcome possibility. -- Welch, Cindy (Reviewed 10-01-2013) (Booklist, vol 110, number 3, p95)
  • In a fast-moving and genuinely funny fantasy, Carnegie Medalist Reeve (Here Lies Arthur) introduces Skarper, a practical sort of goblin who has alienated the less sophisticated members of his tribe by being both intelligent and given to talking back. After being fired off in a "bratapult" by his foes and surviving his fall—he lands rather improbably on a very dense cloud—Skarper meets Henwyn, a foolish 15-year-old apprentice cheesewright who has delusions of becoming a hero ("he'd always felt that he was meant for something more than dairy produce"). After stumbling into several quixotic adventures, the duo teams up with peaceful giant Fraddon, middle-aged princess Eluned (Ned for short), and a gaggle of incompetent sorcerers to defeat the goblins and avert the return to power of the evil Lych Lord. Filled with cheeky surprises, absurd circumstances delivered in a deadpan manner, and magnetic picaresque-style storytelling, this middle-grade novel should readily appeal to fans of The Hobbit, Lloyd Alexander's Prydain series, and Monty Python. Ages 8–12. Agent: Philippa Milnes-Smith, LAW, Ltd. (Sept.) --Staff (Reviewed September 30, 2013) (Publishers Weekly, vol 260, issue 39, p)
  • Sundry creatures and an affable aspiring hero stumble and bumble around a magically infused landscape. Skarper the goblin lives in one of seven ruined towers surrounding an ancient, sealed-up Keep. Goblin gangs (including Skarper's) have overrun the towers, fighting each other and scrambling for treasures. As Skarper has learned to read the lettuce (letters) that make up worms (words) and form burks (books)--other goblins use burks as "bumwipe"--he's declared "too clever by half" and launched sky-high from a "bratapult." He survives and meets Henwyn, a rather dimwitted human boy who'd rather be a hero than a cheesewright and seeks "evils to fight: proper ones, not made of cheese." Skarper, Henwyn and others--including a giant, three "self-styled sorcerers" and a gray-haired princess in her 40s who nonetheless needs rescuing (some things never change)--blunder around, fighting baddies while at odds with one another's goals. Some workings go unexplained (how does a one-legged goblin move around? How do characters reach a ship atop a tower?). In a device that doesn't always work, playful humor (Henwyn is "stout of heart and damp of socks") contrasts with the formal epic-fantasy voice Reeve uses for background ("the lands of the west, where men are few and some of the old magic lingers"). That exposition feels far distant, yet it's key to the climax, which features the Keep imploding like Tolkien's Barad-dûr. A bit overlong and slapdash-feeling, but amiable. (Fantasy. 8-11)(Kirkus Reviews, July 15, 2013)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10217793
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Reeve, Philip
Index
no index present
Intended audience
1020L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
MG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 5
Reading level
6.6
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Study program name
Accelerated Reader
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Goblins
  • Magic
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Goblins, Philip Reeve
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
340 pages
Isbn
9780545222204
Lccn
2013007408
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Goblins, Philip Reeve
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
340 pages
Isbn
9780545222204
Lccn
2013007408
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Bay Shore-Brightwaters Public LibraryBorrow it
      1 South Country Road, Brightwaters, NY, 11718, US
      40.713309 -73.257746
    • Bayport-Blue Point Public LibraryBorrow it
      203 Blue Point Ave, Blue Point, NY, 11715, US
      40.749741 -73.035841
    • Central Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      33 Hawthorne Avenue, Central Islip, NY, 11722, US
      40.795526 -73.195144
    • Center Moriches Free Public LibraryBorrow it
      235 Main Street, Center Moriches, NY, 11934, US
      40.800353 -72.788352
    • Half Hollow Hills Community LibraryBorrow it
      55 Vanderbilt Pkwy, Dix Hills, NY, 11746, US
      40.803876 -73.360391
    • East Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      381 E Main Street, 381 East Main Street, NY, 11730, US
      40.735575 -73.173381
    • Elwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      1929 Jericho Tpke, Elwood, NY, 11731, US
      40.838137 -73.3325100434101
    • Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      338 Main Street, Huntington, NY, 11743, US
      40.87052 -73.430023
    • Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      71 Monell Avenue, Islip, NY, 11751, US
      40.724399 -73.2139704002983
    • North Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      815 Deer Park Ave, North Babylon, NY, 11703, US
      40.724609 -73.322287
    • Northport-East Northport Public LibraryBorrow it
      151 Laurel Ave, Northport, NY, 11768, US
      40.896016 -73.337641
    • North Shore Public LibraryBorrow it
      250 Route 25A, Shoreham, NY, 11786, US
      40.941479 -72.867075
    • Port Jefferson Free LibraryBorrow it
      100 Thompson St, Port Jefferson, NY, 11777, US
      40.946867 -73.066533
    • Rogers Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      91 Coopers Farm Road, Southampton, NY, 11968, US
      40.886297 -72.393263
    • Riverhead Free LibraryBorrow it
      330 Court Street, Riverhead, NY, 11901, US
      40.918477 -72.669224
    • Sachem Public LibraryBorrow it
      150 Holbrook Rd, Holbrook, NY, 11741, US
      40.823146 -73.080982
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
    • Smithtown LibraryBorrow it
      1 North Country Road, Smithtown, NY, 11787, US
      40.856664 -73.186524
    • Southold Free LibraryBorrow it
      53705 Main Road, Southold, NY, 11971, US
      41.064354 -72.429134
    • West Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      3 Higbie Lane, West Islip, NY, 11795, US
      40.697343 -73.306476
Processing Feedback ...