The Resource No bad deed : a novel, Heather Chavez

No bad deed : a novel, Heather Chavez

Label
No bad deed : a novel
Title
No bad deed
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Heather Chavez
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, a thrilling debut about a mother desperate to find the connections between her husband who's just gone missing and a stalker who knows way too much about her own dark family history" --
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • While driving alone one rainy night, veterinarian Cassie Larkin, the narrator of Chavez’s propulsive debut set in California wine country, spots a large man menacing a young woman in the road. Cassie stops and calls 911, but against the dispatcher’s advice, she gets out of her van and confronts the man, who threatens Cassie before escaping with her car. The next night, which is Halloween, Cassie’s husband, Sam, abandons their six-year-old daughter, Audrey, while trick-or-treating and disappears. Det. Ray Rico, who investigates, suspects that either Cassie or her 15-year-old son, Leo, is involved in Sam’s disappearance. Chavez peoples her tale with credible, flawed individuals, presenting even the multiple antagonists with harrowing backstories and convincing psychological motives. While readers must suspend disbelief at times (as when Cassie fails to check in with Rico and goes rogue), Chavez is in full command of plot and pacing as the connection between Cassie’s roadside confrontation and Sam’s disappearance becomes clear. Domestic thriller fans will be well satisfied. Agent: Peter Steinberg, Foundry Literary + Media. (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed 11/04/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 44, p)
  • In this promising debut—rights have already been sold to six countries—veterinarian Cassie Larkin is driving home on one of those fabled dark and stormy nights when she sees a man assaulting a woman by the roadside and gives chase. The perpetrator circles back to steal her car, her husband disappears the next night while trick-or-treating with their daughter, and Cassie must take control of an upended life. With a 50,000-copy first printing. --Barbara Hoffert (Reviewed 09/01/2019) (Library Journal, vol 144, issue 8, p49)
  • A good Samaritan incurs a psychopath's wrath in this debut thriller. Veterinarian Cassie Larkin is heading home after a 12-hour shift when someone darts in front of her car, causing her to dump her energy drink. As she pulls over to mop up the mess, her headlights illuminate a couple having a physical altercation. Cassie calls 911, but before help arrives, the man tosses the woman down an embankment. Ignoring the dispatcher's instructions, Cassie exits the vehicle and intervenes, preventing the now-unconscious woman's murder. With sirens wailing in the distance, the man warns Cassie: "Let her die, and I'll let you live." He then scrambles back to the road and flees in Cassie's van. Using mug shots, Cassie identifies the thief and would-be killer as Carver Sweet, who is wanted for poisoning his wife. The Santa Rosa police assure Cassie of her safety, but the next evening, her husband, Sam, vanishes while trick-or-treating with their 6-year-old daughter, Audrey. Hours later, he sends texts apologizing and confessing to an affair, but although it's true that Sam and Cassie have been fighting, she suspects foul play—particularly given the previous night's events. Cassie files a report with the cops, but they dismiss her concerns, leaving Cassie to investigate on her own. After a convoluted start, Chavez embarks on a paranoia-fueled thrill ride, escalating the stakes while exploiting readers' darkest domestic fears. The far-fetched plot lacks cohesion and relies too heavily on coincidence to be fully satisfying, but the reader will be invested in learning the Larkin family's fate through to the too-pat conclusion. Chavez delivers a fraught if flawed page-turner that attempts too many twists. (Kirkus Reviews, December 15, 2019)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10843134
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Chavez, Heather
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.H3875
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Missing persons
  • Stalkers
Target audience
adult
Label
No bad deed : a novel, Heather Chavez
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
312 pages
Isbn
9780062936172
Lccn
2019017197
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
No bad deed : a novel, Heather Chavez
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
312 pages
Isbn
9780062936172
Lccn
2019017197
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Amityville Public LibraryBorrow it
      19 John Street, Amityville, NY, 11701, US
      40.679667 -73.41909
    • Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      24 South Carll Avenue, Babylon, NY, 11702, US
      40.695094 -73.325906
    • Bayport-Blue Point Public LibraryBorrow it
      203 Blue Point Ave, Blue Point, NY, 11715, US
      40.749741 -73.035841
    • Brentwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      Second Ave and Fourth Street, Brentwood, NY, 11717, US
      40.777939 -73.248215
    • Commack Public LibraryBorrow it
      18 Hauppauge Road, Commack, NY, 11725, US
      40.829045 -73.293782
    • Cold Spring Harbor LibraryBorrow it
      95 Harbor Road, Cold Spring Harbor, NY, 11724, US
      40.866179 -73.460626
    • Comsewogue Public LibraryBorrow it
      170 Terryville Road, Port Jefferson Station, NY, 11776, US
      40.923668 -73.053316
    • Deer Park Public LibraryBorrow it
      44 Lake Avenue, Deer Park, NY, 11729, US
      40.759847 -73.323106
    • Half Hollow Hills Community LibraryBorrow it
      55 Vanderbilt Pkwy, Dix Hills, NY, 11746, US
      40.803876 -73.360391
    • Emma S. Clark Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      120 Main Street, Setauket, NY, 11733, US
      40.944931 -73.11193
    • East Hampton LibraryBorrow it
      159 Main Street, East Hampton, NY, 11937, US
      40.958182 -72.191193
    • East Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      381 E Main Street, 381 East Main Street, NY, 11730, US
      40.735575 -73.173381
    • Harborfields Public LibraryBorrow it
      31 Broadway, Greenlawn, NY, 11740, US
      40.871184 -73.366948
    • Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      338 Main Street, Huntington, NY, 11743, US
      40.87052 -73.430023
    • Hauppauge Public LibraryBorrow it
      601 Veterans Memorial Highway, Hauppauge, NY, 11788, US
      40.823892 -73.208679
    • Huntington Public Library - Station BranchBorrow it
      1335 New York Ave, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.850695 -73.4125
    • Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      71 Monell Avenue, Islip, NY, 11751, US
      40.724399 -73.2139704002983
    • John Jermain Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      34 West Water Street, Sag Harbor, NY, 11963, US
      41.00062 -72.30071
    • Lindenhurst Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      1 Lee Ave, Lindenhurst, NY, 11757, US
      40.68248 -73.36768
    • Longwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      800 Middle Country Road, Middle Island, NY, 11953, US
      40.882178 -72.944065
    • Mattituck-Laurel LibraryBorrow it
      13900 Main Road, Mattituck, NY, 11952, US
      40.992264 -72.530213
    • Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community LibraryBorrow it
      407 William Floyd Pkwy, Shirley, NY, 11967, US
      40.782705 -72.862749
    • North Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      815 Deer Park Ave, North Babylon, NY, 11703, US
      40.724609 -73.322287
    • Northport-East Northport Public LibraryBorrow it
      151 Laurel Ave, Northport, NY, 11768, US
      40.896016 -73.337641
    • North Shore Public LibraryBorrow it
      250 Route 25A, Shoreham, NY, 11786, US
      40.941479 -72.867075
    • Port Jefferson Free LibraryBorrow it
      100 Thompson St, Port Jefferson, NY, 11777, US
      40.946867 -73.066533
    • Patchogue-Medford LibraryBorrow it
      54-60 E. Main St, Patchogue, NY, 11772, US
      40.76538 -73.013599
    • Rogers Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      91 Coopers Farm Road, Southampton, NY, 11968, US
      40.886297 -72.393263
    • Sachem Public LibraryBorrow it
      150 Holbrook Rd, Holbrook, NY, 11741, US
      40.823146 -73.080982
    • South Country LibraryBorrow it
      22 Station Road, Bellport, NY, 11713, US
      40.758119 -72.940998
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
    • Smithtown Library - Commack BranchBorrow it
      3 Indian Head Road, Commack, NY, 11725, US
      40.847121 -73.278766
    • Smithtown LibraryBorrow it
      1 North Country Road, Smithtown, NY, 11787, US
      40.856664 -73.186524
    • West Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      211 Route 109, West Babylon, NY, 11704, US
      40.709044 -73.354079
    • West Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      3 Higbie Lane, West Islip, NY, 11795, US
      40.697343 -73.306476
Processing Feedback ...