The Resource Sasquatch in the paint, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Raymond Obstfeld

Sasquatch in the paint, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Raymond Obstfeld

Label
Sasquatch in the paint
Title
Sasquatch in the paint
Statement of responsibility
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Raymond Obstfeld
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Eighth-grader Theo Rollins' growth spurt has Coach Mandrake trying to transform him into a basketball star, but training time is hurting the science club's chances of winning the "Aca-lympics," and being accused of stealing could mean Theo is off both teams
Member of
Storyline
Character
Review
  • Gr 5 – 8 — Theo Rollins had been one of the most inconspicuous members of his class until he experienced a six-inch growth spurt before the start of eighth grade. Now, Coach Mandrake wants to build his entire offense around him, much to the dismay of the other team members because Theo is a science geek who stinks at basketball. The first game he plays is a disaster and, after a spectator makes a racist comment causing him to make a costly mistake, a classmate named Rain gives him the nickname "Sasquatch." Later, Theo discovers that there is more to Rain than meets the eye. Faced with dismissal from the "Brain Train," the school's Aca-lympic team, because of the time he spends on basketball, Theo must make an important decision about his future. Fans of Matt Christopher and Dan Gutman will enjoy this humorous novel that delivers a heartwarming story about growing up, facing down bullies, and learning what true friendship is all about.—Wayne R. Cherry, Jr., First Baptist Academy Library, Houston, TX --Wayne R. Cherry (Reviewed September 1, 2013) (School Library Journal, vol 59, issue 9, p140)
  • The author team behind What Color Is My World? opens the Streetball Crew series with the story of Theo Rollins who, though only an eighth grader, is already more than six feet tall. A self-proclaimed nerd, Theo gets recruited for the school basketball team, even though he’s terrible at the sport. Additionally, Theo is puzzled by new girl Rain, who’s smart but being threatened by a guy on a motorcycle; his widowed father is unexpectedly interested in dating; and he might be kicked off the school’s Aca-lympics team if he can’t balance his responsibilities. The depth and realism Abdul-Jabbar and Obstfeld bring to the novel keep it from being a run-of-the-mill sports story. Rain, for instance, is Muslim, while Theo is one of only a few black kids at his school; their ostracism doesn’t overshadow the action, but it isn’t ignored, either. Perhaps most refreshing is the fact that the authors allow Theo to gain confidence in basketball without the predictable game-winning shot. Readers will feel a kinship with Theo as he maneuvers through tough but realistic choices. Ages 8–12. (Sept.) --Staff (Reviewed July 22, 2013) (Publishers Weekly, vol 260, issue 29, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ A crisp tale of sports, smarts and what it means to be your own man or woman--or boy or girl, if you happen to be 13. It seems to be an embarrassment of riches to be, say, one of the best basketball players in history and also write tightly entertaining novels for kids, but there you have Abdul-Jabbar. Surely Obstfeld added polish and framing, but this obviously is a work of someone intimate with sports and, by extension, how sports can serve as metaphor for a way of being in the world. Here, newly tall eighth-grader Theo Rollins is trying to find his way between the brainiacs and the basketball players. Along the way, he meets Rain--aka Crazy Girl--a sort of "girl with the dragon tattoo" minus the heaviest baggage. Characters, both friend and foe, feel real; there is talk of abandonment as well as serious comments about the skewed vision Americans have of Islam. The deepest running narrative pivots around sports, but the story has much to give. Theo's cousin's taxonomy of basketball players is broadly applicable: There are the happy-go-lucky, the self-conscious and "those who never want the game to be over, because each minute is like living on some planet where you got no problems....[They are], for that brief time, in a place where everything they thought or did mattered." Fearless, caring sports fiction. (Fiction. 8-12)(Kirkus Reviews, June 15, 2013)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10222494
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1947-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Abdul-Jabbar, Kareem
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Interest level
MG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 5
  • 8
Reading level
4.5
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1952-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Obstfeld, Raymond
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Streetball crew
Series volume
1
Study program name
Accelerated Reader
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Middle schools
  • Schools
  • Basketball stories
  • Science clubs
  • Interpersonal relations
  • African Americans
  • Jews
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Sasquatch in the paint, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Raymond Obstfeld
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
265 pages
Isbn
9781423178705
Lccn
2013007147
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
Label
Sasquatch in the paint, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Raymond Obstfeld
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
265 pages
Isbn
9781423178705
Lccn
2013007147
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Amagansett Free LibraryBorrow it
      215 Main St., Amagansett, NY, 11930, US
      40.97566 -72.141228
    • Amityville Public LibraryBorrow it
      19 John Street, Amityville, NY, 11701, US
      40.679667 -73.41909
    • Bayport-Blue Point Public LibraryBorrow it
      203 Blue Point Ave, Blue Point, NY, 11715, US
      40.749741 -73.035841
    • Commack Public LibraryBorrow it
      18 Hauppauge Road, Commack, NY, 11725, US
      40.829045 -73.293782
    • Cold Spring Harbor LibraryBorrow it
      95 Harbor Road, Cold Spring Harbor, NY, 11724, US
      40.866179 -73.460626
    • Cutchogue-New Suffolk Free LibraryBorrow it
      27550 Main Road, Cutchogue, NY, 11935, US
      41.009161 -72.485707
    • Comsewogue Public LibraryBorrow it
      170 Terryville Road, Port Jefferson Station, NY, 11776, US
      40.923668 -73.053316
    • Half Hollow Hills Community LibraryBorrow it
      55 Vanderbilt Pkwy, Dix Hills, NY, 11746, US
      40.803876 -73.360391
    • Emma S. Clark Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      120 Main Street, Setauket, NY, 11733, US
      40.944931 -73.11193
    • Northport-East Northport Public Library - East NorthportBorrow it
      185 Larkfield Road, East Northport, NY, 11731, US
      40.878082 -73.324623
    • Huntington Public Library - Station BranchBorrow it
      1335 New York Ave, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.850695 -73.4125
    • Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      71 Monell Avenue, Islip, NY, 11751, US
      40.724399 -73.2139704002983
    • Half Hollow Hills Community Library - Melville BranchBorrow it
      510 Sweet Hollow Road, Melville, NY, 11747, US
      40.79228 -73.418994
    • Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community LibraryBorrow it
      407 William Floyd Pkwy, Shirley, NY, 11967, US
      40.782705 -72.862749
    • North Shore Public LibraryBorrow it
      250 Route 25A, Shoreham, NY, 11786, US
      40.941479 -72.867075
    • Patchogue-Medford LibraryBorrow it
      54-60 E. Main St, Patchogue, NY, 11772, US
      40.76538 -73.013599
    • Rogers Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      91 Coopers Farm Road, Southampton, NY, 11968, US
      40.886297 -72.393263
    • Riverhead Free LibraryBorrow it
      330 Court Street, Riverhead, NY, 11901, US
      40.918477 -72.669224
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
    • Smithtown Library - Nesconset BranchBorrow it
      148 Smithtown Blvd, Nesconset, NY, 11767, US
      40.83668 -73.15932
    • Sayville LibraryBorrow it
      88 Greene Ave, Sayville, NY, 11782, US
      40.737676 -73.0858975763936
    • Wyandanch Public LibraryBorrow it
      14 South 20th Street, 11798, NY, 11798, US
      40.74887 -73.364322
Processing Feedback ...