The Resource The legacy, Yrsa Sigurdardottir ; translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb

The legacy, Yrsa Sigurdardottir ; translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb

Label
The legacy
Title
The legacy
Statement of responsibility
Yrsa Sigurdardottir ; translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb
Title variation
DNA
Creator
Contributor
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • ice
  • eng
Summary
The Legacy is the first installment in a fantastic new series featuring the psychologist Freyja and the police officer Huldar. The only person who might have the answers to a baffling murder case is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly-promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja for her expertise with traumatized young people
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ In Reykjavik, seven-year-old Margrét witnesses her mother’s murder, and, Freyja, head psychologist at the Children’s House, agrees to try coaxing details from her. It’s always a challenge to secure reliable information from traumatized children under the pressure of detectives pushing for leads, and matters are complicated further when Freyja recognizes the lead detective, Huldar, as a recent hook-up who lied about his identity, making their collaboration decidedly barbed. Huldar kicks himself for souring an important ally, especially on a case that has begun looking like a career-ender. The only evidence in Elísa Bjarnadóttir’s murder is Margrét’s somewhat surreal description of the killer and her claims that he told Elísa he was after revenge. Huldar is convinced that the case will make or break on Margrét’s memories, and he places her in protective custody with reluctant Freyja as the killer hunts his loose end. When elderly widow Ástrós Einerdóttir is murdered with the killer’s bizarre signature, Huldar’s team struggles to find the victims’ connections. Meanwhile, Karl, an unsuspecting shortwave-radio operator, has figured out that the numbers broadcast on a coded channel he’s discovered are identification numbers: his, Elísa’s, and Ástrós’. This complex, character-driven procedural, the first in a new series from Sigurdardóttir, whose recent efforts have been supernatural-tinged thrillers, is powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Läckberg. -- Tran, Christine (Reviewed 1/1/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 9, p46)
  • /* Starred Review */ This relentlessly paced series launch from Sigurdardottir (The Undesired) is as stark and horrifying as any of the ancient Icelandic sagas. In 1987, three orphaned siblings fall victim to bureaucratic exigency: the sister, because she is more desirable to potential adoptive parents, is separated from her two older brothers. Flash forward to 2015, when an intruder slips into the Reykjavík home of Elisa, a young mother, while her husband is away and brutally murders her. Huldar, a police detective shakily directing his first homicide investigation, joins forces with Freyja, a psychologist specializing in the care of traumatized children. Margrét, Elisa’s unhappy eldest child who was cowering under the bed where her mother was killed, gradually reveals clues to the killer’s identity. Meanwhile, Karl, a reclusive loner, untangles clues he hears on his ham radio. Sigurdardottir’s trademark sly ironies, often directed at official fumbling, can be downright ghoulish. Others are deliciously hilarious: Huldar and Freyja, pulled together for the case, realize they had a “well-oiled” one-night stand a little earlier. Each character is brilliantly conceived. Few readers will be able to put down this powerful tale of revenge. (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed 12/18/2017) (Publishers Weekly, vol 264, issue 52, p)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10613666
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
Dewey number
839/.6935
Index
no index present
Language note
In English. Translated from the Icelandic
LC call number
PT7513.Y77
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Cribb, Victoria
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Children's House
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women psychologists
  • Police
  • Murder
  • Mothers
  • Child witnesses
  • Child welfare
Target audience
adult
Label
The legacy, Yrsa Sigurdardottir ; translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • "First published in Icelandic under the title DNA by Verold Publishing"--Tp verso
  • "A Thomas Dunne Book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
455 pages
Isbn
9781250136268
Lccn
2017041608
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
The legacy, Yrsa Sigurdardottir ; translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • "First published in Icelandic under the title DNA by Verold Publishing"--Tp verso
  • "A Thomas Dunne Book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
455 pages
Isbn
9781250136268
Lccn
2017041608
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Amityville Public LibraryBorrow it
      19 John Street, Amityville, NY, 11701, US
      40.679667 -73.41909
    • Center Moriches Free Public LibraryBorrow it
      235 Main Street, Center Moriches, NY, 11934, US
      40.800353 -72.788352
    • Cold Spring Harbor LibraryBorrow it
      95 Harbor Road, Cold Spring Harbor, NY, 11724, US
      40.866179 -73.460626
    • Comsewogue Public LibraryBorrow it
      170 Terryville Road, Port Jefferson Station, NY, 11776, US
      40.923668 -73.053316
    • Deer Park Public LibraryBorrow it
      44 Lake Avenue, Deer Park, NY, 11729, US
      40.759847 -73.323106
    • Half Hollow Hills Community LibraryBorrow it
      55 Vanderbilt Pkwy, Dix Hills, NY, 11746, US
      40.803876 -73.360391
    • East Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      381 E Main Street, 381 East Main Street, NY, 11730, US
      40.735575 -73.173381
    • Hampton Bays Public LibraryBorrow it
      52 Ponquogue Avenue, Hampton Bays, NY, 11946, US
      40.872962 -72.520379
    • Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      338 Main Street, Huntington, NY, 11743, US
      40.87052 -73.430023
    • Islip Public LibraryBorrow it
      71 Monell Avenue, Islip, NY, 11751, US
      40.724399 -73.2139704002983
    • Lindenhurst Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      1 Lee Ave, Lindenhurst, NY, 11757, US
      40.68248 -73.36768
    • Longwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      800 Middle Country Road, Middle Island, NY, 11953, US
      40.882178 -72.944065
    • Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community LibraryBorrow it
      407 William Floyd Pkwy, Shirley, NY, 11967, US
      40.782705 -72.862749
    • Northport-East Northport Public LibraryBorrow it
      151 Laurel Ave, Northport, NY, 11768, US
      40.896016 -73.337641
    • North Shore Public LibraryBorrow it
      250 Route 25A, Shoreham, NY, 11786, US
      40.941479 -72.867075
    • Port Jefferson Free LibraryBorrow it
      100 Thompson St, Port Jefferson, NY, 11777, US
      40.946867 -73.066533
    • Patchogue-Medford LibraryBorrow it
      54-60 E. Main St, Patchogue, NY, 11772, US
      40.76538 -73.013599
    • Rogers Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      91 Coopers Farm Road, Southampton, NY, 11968, US
      40.886297 -72.393263
    • Riverhead Free LibraryBorrow it
      330 Court Street, Riverhead, NY, 11901, US
      40.918477 -72.669224
    • South Country LibraryBorrow it
      22 Station Road, Bellport, NY, 11713, US
      40.758119 -72.940998
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
    • West Babylon Public LibraryBorrow it
      211 Route 109, West Babylon, NY, 11704, US
      40.709044 -73.354079
Processing Feedback ...