The Resource Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay

Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay

Label
Year of the orphan : a novel
Title
Year of the orphan
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Daniel Findlay
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The Road meets Mad Max in this stunning debut- also for fans of Station 11, The Passage, and Riddley Walker. In a post-apocalyptic future where survivors scavenge in the harsh Australian Outback for spoils from a buried civilization, a girl races across the desert, holding her treasures close, pursued by the Reckoner. Riding her sand ship, living rough in the blasted landscape, she scouts the broken infrastructure and trades her scraps at the only known settlement, a ramshackle fortress of greed, corruption, and disease known as the System. It is an outpost whose sole purpose is survival-refuge from the hulking eyeless things they call Ghosts and other creatures that hunt beyond the fortress walls. Sold as a child, then raised hard in the System, the Orphan has a mission. She carries secrets about the destruction that brought the world to its knees. And she's about to discover that the past still holds power over the present. Given an impossible choice, will the Orphan save the only home she knows or see it returned to dust? Both paths lead to blood, but whose will be spilled? With propulsive pacing, a rich, broken language all its own, and a protagonist whose grit and charisma are matched by a relentless drive to know, The Year of the Orphan is a thriller of the future you won't want to put down"--
Tone
Character
Award
Loan Stars Favourites, 2019
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10563991
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Findlay, Daniel
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.F575
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Orphans
  • Survival
  • Dystopias
Label
Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
282 pages
Isbn
9781628729924
Lccn
2018055716
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
282 pages
Isbn
9781628729924
Lccn
2018055716
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Emma S. Clark Memorial LibraryBorrow it
      120 Main Street, Setauket, NY, 11733, US
      40.944931 -73.11193
    • East Hampton LibraryBorrow it
      159 Main Street, East Hampton, NY, 11937, US
      40.958182 -72.191193
    • Longwood Public LibraryBorrow it
      800 Middle Country Road, Middle Island, NY, 11953, US
      40.882178 -72.944065
    • South Huntington Public LibraryBorrow it
      145 Pidgeon Hill Road, Huntington Station, NY, 11746, US
      40.822565 -73.391343
Processing Feedback ...